We’re Back! And More Literal Than Ever!

When I first started blogging, it was to cover underrepresented theater in New York City–in other words, to call out off-off and off-Broadway shows that were worth seeing. I called the site “That Sounds Cool” because it was my sole determining factor on which events to take in. (In all honesty, “That Looks Cool” is also a critical factor: If you can’t afford any sort of graphic design, I’m increasingly wary of the show itself.)

Because of real-world conflicts that kept me from regularly attending live theater, I turned instead toward analyzing things that I could take in at my own leisure. For a while, I started writing about short stories, and most recently, I’ve been reviewing video games and recapping the occasional television series for Slant Magazine. I fully intend to keep doing that, but that leaves me with the question of what to post here.

The answer is quite simple. Each weekday, at around 1:00 (lunchtime), I plan to post brief snippets from interesting things that I’ve read, or additional observations about things that I’ve recently covered. They’ll be longer than tweets, but shorter than blogs, if that makes any sort of sense. It’s a bit like a diary, but not of my own largely uneventful life; it’ll be closer to second-hand poetry, if anything. Things may get political; I may anonymously excerpt from conversations I have on Facebook, for example. In each case, I aim simply to highlight a thought or two that might get someone else going. So let’s do it. Let’s talk about a thing That Sounds Cool.

(And if you have any recommendations, send them my way or post to the comments.)

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

